SER Convention Wrap-Up

Thanks goes to Fred Coleman and his entire Blue Ridge Rails team for putting on a terrific convention.   161 attendees enjoyed a weekend of terrific clinics, operating sessions, layout and prototype tours, and other activities.  More convention coverage will be included in the summer edition of the SouthErneR. Highlights from the convention include:
Keynote Speaker.  Jerry Ledford gave an entertaining presentation on logging railroads in the Blue Ridge and Smokey Mountains. 
Service Awards.  Congratulations to the following individuals recognized for service:  
  • Randall Watson was presented with the Vern Yarbrough Award for service at the region level.
  • David Gelmini was presented with the Dave Muller Award for service at the division level.  
  • Roy Masterson, The Wrecking Crew, and Jenny Hendricks each received President's Awards.
  • Sally Bando received the Chairman's Award. 
  • Dr. Joe Nichols, SR, MMR received a special award for his long term dedication to the hobby.
Model Contest.
  • Mack Craig Award, for Best in Show, went to David Whikehart for his model of Scott Lumber Co. David's model earned 116 points.
  • Mike Callahan Award, Best Model receiving more than 100 points went to Jason Parham for his Locust Grove and Western Passenger Car -The model earned 112 points.
  • Jason's model was also the People's Choice Winner with 18 votes.

Photo Contest

  • Model Color Print, first place went to Edmond J Neale.
  • Prototype B&W Print, first place went to Edmond Neale.
  • Prototype Color Print, first place to Ken Stinnette.
  • Working On The Railroad, wide-open to any photo, model or prototype, B&W or color, that portrays railroad workers in action, first place to Edmond Neale.
  • Panorama Print, first place to Greg Williams.